Terry Pratchett….

There is a book store near my house that i like to go to. it is owned by a gray haired, middle aged, straight faced Yemen and his wife who looks roughly his age, only with long deep black hair, a thin face, and a wide smile.

A few weeks ago i dropped in on a friday morning and bought a Terry Pratchett book. it was my forth or fifth.

Terry Pratchett is my currently most favorite author. The book is called “thiPicture of Deathef of time”; it is part of the DiscWorld series. The picture to the right, is a picture of Death, who happens to be a character in the book. Actually, his granddaughter Susan is one of the main characters in the book.

While paying for the new book, the Yemen reported that Terry Pratchett has just died. i was shocked and somewhat taken back. it has been on my mind ever since.

i am looking through the net and i cannot find mention of his death anywhere. there is news on his being diagnosed with a rare form of early-onset Alzheimer’s disease.

some excerpts taken from Paul kidby’s site where Pratchett announced this publicly on 11th December 2007

“I am not dead,” Pratchett insisted. “I will, of course, be dead at some future point, as will everybody else.”

PS I would just like to draw attention to everyone reading the above that this should be interpreted as ‘I am not dead’. I will, of course, be dead at some future point, as will everybody else. For me, this maybe further off than you think – it’s too soon to tell.
I know it’s a very human thing to say “Is there anything I can do”, but in this case I would only entertain offers from very high-end experts in brain chemistry.

Leave a comment